LGBTQ + is an initialism that means:  L for Lesbian, G for Gay, B for Bisexual, T for Transgender  & Q for Queer or Questioning.  

The LGBTQ Community or GLBT Community, is also referred to as the gay community, it is a defined grouping of LGBT organizations, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, all united by a common stand. LGBTQ is the preferred initialsism by the younger members of the community who embrace queer as a self descriptor .

LQBTQ is the most commonly used term amongst the community as it is more user friendly. You might also have come across the terms “ Queer Community” or “Rainbow Community”, it is used to describe LGBTQ2+ people.  People also use LGBTTTQQIAA that is Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Trans – sexual, Two- spirit, Queer, Questioning, Intersex, Asexual, Ally.  We can’tmemorize the list as the initialism and the terms keep on evolving.  One must always be respectful and use the correct terms. 

The LGBTQ Community is often associated with certain symbols; especially the rainbow or rainbow flags. Triangles, ribbons and gender symbols are also some of the “gay acceptance” symbols. Gilbert Baker, The Creator of the Rainbow flag represents each color with a value –
  • Voilet – Spirit
  • Indigo – Harmony
  • Blue – Art
  • Green – Nature
  • Yellow – The Sun
  • Orange – Healing
  • Red–Life
  • Pink – Sexuality

Around the year 1988 , activists started using the term LGBT in the United States.  From 1990s the gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender people started gaining equal respect within the communities. The LGBTQ Communities have always seen controversies regarding their universal acceptance.  The Online Social Networking Service Facebook, in February 2014, widened the choice of gender variants for users to eliminate LGBTQ  discrimination.

GLAAD’s Media Reference Guide in 2016 stated that Queer is termed as disparaging and also rejected by the older members of the community